Australian Appointments to ESO Governing Bodies

ESO, working with the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science, has confirmed Australia’s astronomer appointments, for the next three years, to the ESO Council (EC), Scientific Technical Committee (STC) and Users’ Committee (UC). AAL congratulates the successful candidates:

   EC:  Matthew Colless
   STC: Michael Ireland
   UC:  Caroline Foster

ESO was spoilt with a range of candidates exhibiting excellent scientific and technical competence relevant to the ESO mission. The successful appointees complement the skills currently represented on those governing bodies.

Related Posts

Call for nominations to the AAL Board

At the conclusion of the AAL Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 17 November 2022, three positions will become vacant on the AAL Board. The AAL...

ACAMAR Visiting Fellowship – Announcement of the Second Round

ACAMAR would like to announce the second round of the ACAMAR Visiting Fellowship. This fellowship enables distinguished Chinese researchers to make extended visits to Australia...

Call for ESO Proposals – Period 111 (1 April – 30 September 2023)

The European Southern Observatory (ESO) has released the Call for Proposals for Period 111 (for observations between 1 April – 30 September 2023). Under the...