External Representatives

AAL appoints astronomers to a number of external boards and committees. AAL then provides support to these appointees to represent the interests of Australian astronomers nationally and internationally.

CTA Representative
Cherenkov Telescope Array's Large-Sized Telescope prototype (LST-1). Credit: Tomohiro Inada.
Gavin Rowell, AdelaideCTA Science Lead
Anne Green, University of SydneySupport personnel to the CTA ERIC Board of Governmental Representatives negotiations
GMTO Representatives
Giant Magellan Telescope
A render of the future GMT at night. Credit: GMTO Corporation/M3 Engineering.
Chris Tinney, UNSWGMTO Board
Katie Auchettl, UniMelbGMTO SAC
Mark McAuley, AALGMTO Founder
GWDC Science Advisory Panel
Two neutron stars interact and produce gravitational waves. Credit: OzGrav.
eROSITA Management Committee
The energetic universe as seen with the eROSITA X-ray telescope.
The energetic universe as seen with the eROSITA X-ray telescope. Image credit: Jeremy Sanders, Hermann Brunner and the eSASS team (MPE); Eugene Churazov, Marat Gilfanov (on behalf of IKI).
Christian Wolf, ANUScience Lead
Stefania Barsanti, ANUCommittee Member
Nick Tothill, WSUCommittee Member
MWA Representative
The Murchison Widefield Array (MWA), located in WA. This image depicts Tile 107 in the array. Credit: Natasha Hurley-Walker / MWA Collaboration & Curtin University.
Phil Edwards, CSIROMWA Board
Rubin Observatory Representative
Rubin Observatory at sunset, lit by a full moon. Credit: Rubin Observatory/NSF/AURA.
Sarah Brough, UNSWLSST Science Lead
Space Science Leads Committee
NASA’s Wide Field Infrared Survey Telescope (WFIRST) is now named the Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope. Credit: NASA.
Simon Driver, UWAInterim Chair