The Anglo-Australian Telescope (AAT) is the largest optical telescope in Australia, located at Siding Spring Observatory in NSW. At 3.9m, it has an excellent instrumentation suite that has kept it globally competitive amongst 4m-class telescopes. From 1 July 2022, for a period of three years, operations of the AAT are being funded by a consortium of 11 Australian universities. AAL acts as a manager for telescope operations on behalf of the AAT Consortium.

AAT Access

From August 2022 (Semester 2022B), only researchers from universities that are paid up members of the consortium (and external paid users) will be able to apply for time on the AAT. Each member of the AAT consortium has funded access to a nominal number of nights of AAT time per year. This can be pooled with other partners to be allocated by the AAT Time Allocation Committee (ATAC), or be reserved for projects of their own choice.

Enquiries regarding AAT access can be made to AAL via: [email protected]

For more information about the AAT

For more about the AAT, such as telescope capabilities, observing and operational matters, please see the ANU’s AAT webpage.

AAT Governance

See here for more information about AAT Council and Committees

Milky Way rising, LMC and AAT. Credit: Ángel R. López-Sánchez (AAO/MQU)
Crescent Moon and the AAT. Credit: Ángel R. López-Sánchez (AAO-MQ).