Call for nominations to the AAL Board

AAL is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee whose Members are all Australian universities and research organisations with a significant astronomy research capability. AAL finances a range of research infrastructure projects, funded primarily from Australian Government grants, and supports Australian engagement with various international observatories.

At the conclusion of the AAL Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 17 November 2022, the terms of Prof Karl Glazebrook, Prof Orsola De Marco and Prof Naomi McClure-Griffiths will expire, creating three vacancies on the Board. The AAL constitution requires the Members to seek a Board that collectively has experience in astronomical research broadly consistent with the decadal plan for Australian astronomy, along with a range of skills and experiences relevant to a company focused on national and international research infrastructure collaboration.

To complement the skills and expertise of the ongoing Directors, the AAL Nomination Committee is particularly interested in candidates who can demonstrate a depth of senior experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • Scientific commercialisation;
  • Gravitational waves; and
  • High-performance computing.
Commitments from AAL Board members

To be considered as a candidate for a position as a non-executive Director with AAL, you should be aware of the following criteria:

  • Non-executive directors are elected for a three-year term.
  • Attendance is required at four Board meetings that take place each year, in February (one full day), May (two days, in conjunction with the annual strategy session), August (one full day) and November (two days, in conjunction with the AGM).
  • In addition to Board meetings and other conference calls scheduled throughout the year as required, non-executive directors typically participate on one or two committees, and occasionally on overseas committees. The level of participation is not mandated by AAL, but rather each non-executive director is invited to volunteer to serve on such committees.
  • Non-executive directors are remunerated on the basis of their anticipated time commitments, on average around fourteen days per year. Most activity occurs around the quarterly Board meetings.

If you consider yourself well placed to contribute to the Board via your expertise and ideas, please email Mr Mark McAuley, Chief Executive Officer with a one-page letter and one-page CV demonstrating: 

  • relevant experience;
  • an understanding of board functions, roles and responsibilities;
  • why you want to join the Board of AAL; and,
  • any relevant conflicts of interest. 

AAL is committed to equity and diversity and encourages applications from under-represented groups. 

The deadline for applications is Friday, 7 October at 8:00 PM AEDT. Late applications will not be accepted. 

Applications will be reviewed by the Nomination Committee. This committee will make nominations to the AAL Members for consideration and the outcome of the election will be announced during the 2022 AAL AGM. 

Queries can be made to either Mr Mark McAuley, Chief Executive Officer, or Prof Cathryn Trott, Nomination Committee Chair.

Related Posts

Alt text: In this artist’s impression, three cream and pink coloured galaxies are jumbled together in the upper left corner. From this group, a bright yellow streak points towards the bottom right, where it intersects with a dot on a spiral arm of the Milky Way. The Milky Way, with a glowing white centre and blue-purple spiral arms, stands out against the black background faintly speckled with distant galaxies.

Record-breaking fast radio burst discovery highlights synergies between ESO and SKA

A global team led by Macquarie University’s Dr Stuart Ryder and Swinburne University of Technology’s Associate Professor Ryan Shannon have discovered the most distant fast...

Call for nominations – AAL Committees

AAL is seeking nominations from members of the astronomy community and other suitably qualified individuals keen to serve in one of several capacities. Applications for...

AAL seeks applications for one vacancy on the AAL Board

AAL is currently seeking nominations for one vacancy on the AAL Board. The deadline for applications is Friday, 6 October at 8:00 PM AEDT.  Late...