Latest Past Events

LSST Monthly Zoom Talks


Professor Sarah Brough, Australian Science Lead for the Rubin Observatory's Legacy Survey of Space & Time (LSST) is hosting a monthly online session with 1-2 short talks from each of the Australian LSST PIs or a JA they sponsor, on their LSST engagement activities (i.e. science connected to LSST). These sessions are designed to build […]

Australian LSST Workshop 2022


AAL is proud to host the 2022 Australian LSST Workshop, to be held online on Monday 12 Dec 2022 from noon-5pm AEDT (9am-2pm AWST).

AAL, ADACS, and AAO Data Central are gearing up to provide in-kind software engineering effort to Rubin Observatory, as well as host an International LSST Data Access Centre (IDAC) in Australia, to be funded through a combination of an ARC LIEF grant and NCRIS funding.

The energetic universe as seen with the eROSITA X-ray telescope.
The energetic universe as seen with the eROSITA X-ray telescope. Image credit: Jeremy Sanders, Hermann Brunner and the eSASS team (MPE); Eugene Churazov, Marat Gilfanov (on behalf of IKI).

A third call for joint Australia-eROSITA_DE projects is now open. Proposal submissions will be accepted until 11 February 2022. This call follows two previous successful calls for joint projects under the agreement between Australian-based astronomers, represented by Astronomy Australia Limited (AAL) and the German eROSITA Consortium (eROSITA_DE).

In 2013, CAASTRO and the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics signed a memorandum of understanding designed to promote collaborations between Australian scientists and members of the eROSITA consortium. AAL has taken over responsibility for the agreement with eROSITA and the MoU agreement between AAL and eROSITA_DE covers all astronomers at Australian Institutions. A large number of current and planned Australian surveys provide data for multi-wavelength projects, using the national and international facilities participating in this collaboration. This provides some exciting new opportunities for multi-wavelength astronomy projects across the southern sky.

A list of participating Australian facilities and Australian surveys is provided on the AAL eROSITA webpage where more information is available about the project. Further information is also listed on the eROSITA MPE webpage.

The first eROSITA all-sky survey was completed in June 2020, revealing a spectacular vision of the hot and energetic universe. The result has created a new map for astronomers, with this new survey capturing over one million objects – far exceeding the number discovered by previous X-ray telescopes.

Given all the above developments, and the success of the collaboration to date, a third call for proposals for joint Australia-eROSITA_DE projects has been released. 

How to apply

Proposals should be submitted via this template and emailed to the eRosita_DE/Australian Collaboration Technical Secretary, Shona Madoc: [email protected]. The process of proposal assessment is described on the AAL eROSITA Project Application webpage

The collaborative science projects will:

  • require the use of products associated with both the eROSITA_DE survey and Australian surveys/facilities.
  • involve at least one member from each of the eROSITA_DE survey and an Australian Institution
  • not be in conflict with existing eROSITA_DE or Australian projects
  • (optionally) allow participation by undergraduate and postgraduate students
  • adhere to the existing policies for the individual facilities involved (e.g. proprietary periods, data access, survey teams, observing time, publications).

It is strongly encouraged that potential proposers get in touch with their corresponding partners early on. If  interested parties would like to use eROSITA and Australian facilities for their research, but do not know who to contact specifically, the AAL eROSITA Collaboration webpage includes a list of eROSITA_DE contacts including Chairs of Science Working Groups.

According to the eROSITA_DE Policy, each proposal should be approved by the eROSITA_DE Science Working Group before submission.

Please contact Duncan Galloway ([email protected]) or Shona Madoc  ([email protected]) with any questions regarding this call.