Prof Naomi McClure-Griffiths

Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths is an AAL Director.

Professor Naomi McClure-Griffiths
BA(Hons), PhD (Astrophysics)

Prof. Naomi McClure-Griffiths is a Professor at the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics (RSAA) at The Australian National University. Prior to this, Naomi spent 13 years at CSIRO holding various roles, including OCE Science Leader and Head of National Facility Science for the Australia Telescope National Facility. Naomi’s area of research is in the structure and evolution of gas and magnetic fields in our own Milky Way and the nearby Magellanic System. Her research group uses radio telescopes, including the Australia Telescope Compact Array, Parkes Radio telescope and Green Bank telescope. Naomi co-leads the Galactic ASKAP survey, GASKAP, and the Polarisation survey, POSSUM and has roles in SKA science planning, including membership on two SKA Science working groups (HI and The Galaxy), the SKA Science and Engineering Advisory Committee, Australia New Zealand SKA Coordination Committee (ANZSCC) and ANZSCC’s Science Advisory Committee. Naomi is a Fellow of the Astronomical Society of Australia and a Member of the International Astronomical Union.

Naomi completed her PhD in Astrophysics at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN USA. She received the 2006 Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year and the 2015 Pawsey Medal from the Australian Academy of Science.