Collaboration Governance

The renewed partnership between Australian astronomers, represented by AAL, and the German eROSITA Consortium (eROSITA_DE), provides exciting new opportunities for multi-wavelength astronomy projects across the southern sky.

The MoU agreement between AAL and eROSITA_DE covers all astronomers at Australian Institutions. A large number of current and planned Australian surveys provide data for multi-wavelength projects, using the national and international facilities participating in this collaboration.

Such projects should be formally proposed to, approved by and monitored by a joint AAL/eROSITA_DE Management Committee and the Chairs of the relevant eROSITA_DE Science Working Groups.

eROSITA_DE Contacts

​eROSITA PI: Andrea Merloni, MPE 
​eROSITA Project Scientist: Andrea Merloni, MPE 
eROSITA Spokesperson: Mara Salvato, MPE

eROSITA_DE Science Working Group Chairs

Clusters and Cosmology: E. Bulbul, MPE
AGN, Blazars: K. Nandra, MPE 
Normal Galaxies: F. Haberl, MPE 
Compact objects: A. Schwope, AIP
Stars: J. Robrade, UH
Solar System: K. Dennerl, MPE
Diffuse Emission, SNR: M. Sasaki, FAU
Time Domain Astrophysics:  J. Wilms, ECAP
Data Analysis, Source Extraction, Catalogs: H. Brunner, MPE
Multi-wavelength Follow-up: M. Salvato, MPE
Calibration: K. Dennerl, MPE
Background: M.Freyberg, MPE

Members of AAL/eROSITA_DE Management Committee

Kirpal Nandra, MPE
Thomas Reiprich, Bonn
Mara Salvato, MPE
Miroslav Filipovic, WSU
Duncan Galloway, Monash
Matt Owers, Macquarie 

The Management Committee meets every three months. Matt Owers is the Science Lead for Australian eROSITA activities.

Contacts for the Australian collaboration

Matt Owers, Macquarie: [email protected]
Lucyna Chudczer, AAL: [email protected]