Optical Telescopes Advisory Committee (OTAC)

Terms of Reference

The Optical Telescopes Advisory Committee is a committee of Astronomy Australia Ltd (AAL). The purpose of OTAC is to assist AAL by executing the following:

  • Consider the operational performance of all Australia's national optical/infra-red telescopes (including the Australian share of international facilities), with particular regard to whether they both individually and in combination cater for the scientific needs of the Australian community;
  • Monitor and assess the progress of any national optical/infra-red telescope projects funded by AAL; and
  • Keep the AAL Board apprised of global developments in major optical/infra-red telescope facilities, and provide it with strategic advice accordingly.


  • Members of OTAC are appointed by the AAL Board for a fixed term, with the possibility of renewal.


  • Martin Asplund, Australian National University, until 31 December 2017
  • Michele Trenti, University of Melbourne, until 31 December 2017 (Chair)
  • Michael Ashley, University of New South Wales, until 31 December 2017
  • Andy Sheinis, Australian Astronomical Observatory, until 31 December 2017
  • Juan Madrid, CSIRO, until 31 December 2018
  • Julia Bryant, University of Sydney, until 31 December 2018
  • Lee Spitler, Macquarie University, until 31 December 2018
  • Warrick Couch, Australian Astronomincal Observatory (ex-officio)
  • Stuart Ryder, Head of International Telescopes Support Office (ex-officio)
  • Gayandhi De Silva, Magellan Science Advisory Committee Representative (ex-officio)
  • Karl Glazebrook, AAL Board Representative (ex-officio)